World News

2019: Nigeria’s Chigozie Obioma Makes list of Booker Prize for Fiction


Nigeria’s Chigozie Obioma Makes list of 2019 Booker Prize

Nigeria’s Chigozie Obioma has been shortlisted for the 2019 Booker Prize for Fiction together with six other authors .

Margaret Atwood, Lucy Ellmann , Bernardine Evaristo, Salman Rushdie and Elif Shafak were all listed for the prize.

This was announced on Tuesday, September 3 by the 2019 Chair of Judges Peter Florence, at a press conference at London’s British Library.

He said,

“Like all great literature, these books teem with life, with a profound and celebratory humanity”.

The shortlist was selected from 151 submitted books. It offers an insight into different worlds from the dystopian setting of Gilead, the monologue of an Ohio housewife and the tragicomic tale of a travelling salesman in America; to mostly female, mostly Black, British lives across generations, the trials of a young Nigerian man on a quest to improve his prospects and true allegiances within the brothels of Istanbul.

READ MORE:   Prince William Shares Throwback Photo Of Himself ,Prince Harry& Princess Diana

The 2019 Booker Prize for Fiction is open to writers of any nationality,writing in English and published in the UK or Ireland between 1 October 2018 and 30 September 2019.

The 2019 shortlist is:

Margaret Atwood (Canada), The Testaments (Chatto & Windus)

Lucy Ellmann (UK/USA), Ducks, Newburyport (Galley Beggar Press)

Bernardine Evaristo (UK), Girl, Woman, Other (Hamish Hamilton)

READ MORE:   Real Reasons Why Russian Sisters, Khachaturyan Killed Their Father

Chigozie Obioma (Nigeria), An Orchestra of Minorities (Little Brown)

Salman Rushdie (UK/India), Quichotte (Jonathan Cape)

Elif Shafak (Turkey/UK), 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World

The 2019 winner will be announced on Monday 14 October at an awards ceremony at London’s Guildhall. An event with the winner, presented in partnership with New Statesman, is scheduled to take place at Foyles, Charing Cross on Thursday 17 October.

READ MORE:   British PM, Boris Johnson React As He's Hit With Cheating Allegation

The shortlisted authors each receive £2,500 and a specially bound edition of their book.

The winner will receive a further £50,000 and can expect instant international recognition.



About Queen Doosh

I am Queen Winifred Dooshima. A graduate of Library and Information Science, in both first and second degree. I am spontaneous and straightforward. A business woman par-excellence. Owner of blog which is primarily focused with creating and disseminating credible information in this era of Information explosion. Our news covers both Local and International news. My goal is to succeed!

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *